Confessions of a teacher, part 1: The untold story

For tonight, something about me.

A student of mine told me yesterday that I don’t share much about my personal life. I reacted that I never knew we teachers were supposed to. She replied, “I know, sir. But it’s you.” Alright. So, here I am.

I won’t spill everything now (hence the ‘part 1’), but I’ll get started with something that will surprise some of you, I think. So, how about this?


I was never a trained teacher.

Heh. I suppose that shows sometimes? But seriously.

I could say that my talents lend more from my parents who are both advertisers and managers. And perhaps, there is some teacher blood in my family since two of my aunts are teachers, and my great grandfather was once the Minister for Public Instruction. I never made much of this legacy, but history has its way.

In college, I took a one-semester basic education course because I couldn’t think of any other elective to take. Seriously, it was an accident. But I managed to ace (A+) the course and my teacher then whispered to me that I was meant to be a great teacher. Again, I never made much of this prophecy. I wanted to join a non-governmental organization, for all that mattered.

But right after graduation, I applied for a teaching position in the Ateneo High School, my old alma mater. I was actually excited, and I thought about all the possibilities of teaching in a school I really didn’t like but wanted to love. However, it turned out that the school didn’t love me back. I was rejected. Their reason? My degree is not an education one.

Fair enough. I gave up on becoming a teacher. Other schools had the same reason. And so for a while, I decided to pick up on the legacy of my parents and go into advertising. But I didn’t want their help and I wanted to get hired on my own. For a while, I wanted to be part of a world so different from what I am part of now — the young professional in Makati kind of world. But as promising as I was — these interviews have this way of giving you false hope — none of them would hire me. Their reason? My degree is not an advertising one.

See? There is a reason why most political science majors go into law school. For a while, I was the banner of “What not to do with a political science degree.”

And so I carried on. Or rather, I didn’t. Graduation was a bad time for me since I just broke up with my girlfriend then. Obviously, all that rejection didn’t help. No one would hire me, no one would love me! For a while, I quit on me. I gave up! I decided to just bum and see where life would take me. I didn’t care anymore.

Oh, and I wouldn’t even think of going to law school. My exs were there. I think they were even roommates at one point.

But moving on with the story…

I gave myself a lot of quality time. I worked out, learned badminton, and lost about 50 pounds. I worked at just feeling better about myself and I did. Losing weight was a huge confidence booster, and that helped restore my self-esteem. Around May to June, I picked a small job helping my aunt in this events management business she had starting. That stint gave me some string to dangle on since I was literally flat broke.

At around July, I decided to get a ‘real’ job and so I applied for one where I would do nothing but play X-Box all day.

It was for this then small call center which had X-Box as one of its accounts. I wanted to be one of those guys you would call for cheats and stuff. Would’ve been fun. So, I went through the usual application processes and landed the job. But — there’s always a but — they didn’t put me in the X-Box account. They transferred me to Microsoft PC Safety where I would help people with virus problems, spyware and the like. Oh well.

But, hey. They didn’t ask about my political science degree! That’s cool.

I worked at that call center for about three months. It was rather enjoyable in the beginning since I had a real job and started to earn my own money. My teammates were from different backgrounds but we all agreed on having Monster’s Pizza delivered every afternoon (our shift starts at 4pm).

My job was to guide and educate those who call us for help about their virus-related computer problems, with ‘virus’ being a catch all word for anything that’s wrong with the software. So it’s like teaching in a sense. The only difference is that we were talking to really stupid people who in turn made you even more stupid.

“So what makes you say you have a virus in your computer?” I ask.

“It’s not turning on.”

“Have you tried pressing the ON button?”

“Wait” (Tries the ON button.) “Nothing’s happening.”

(Silence on my end.) “Is the computer unplugged?”

(Long silence on his end.)

(Even longer.)

(Even, even longer.) “It’s on now. Thank you.”

O_O

I won’t talk much about my call center life since I’ll make that the topic of a future ‘confessions of a teacher’. Suffice to say, I couldn’t imagine myself doing that kind of work much longer.

I was always a deep individual who wanted to find meaning in what I do. I did a lot of soul-searching and reflecting, and realized that perhaps I should’ve listened to my education teacher.

I remembered that even when I was younger, I already had an inclination to teach. I loved to talk and give advice; I wanted to be a priest at one point since I thought it would be cool to give ‘unboring’ homilies. Back in grade school, I would often substitute for my teachers whenever they’re absent. In high school, I joined an organization that reached out to public school children. I taught catechism for two years at the Balara Elementary School, and I loved interacting with the kids. And in college, I became a master of listening and reading people. But apparently, the person I misunderstood most was me.

At that point, I looked back and regretted the path I took: I should’ve worked, from the very start, to become this ‘great teacher’ she said I would be. But looking at myself — a political science graduate from the Ateneo working in a call center where I spoke with stupid people all day — I was just afraid that I was too far gone. My life hasn’t been lucky with second chances.

And then in one November night, I received a call.

“Hello, this is Mr. Jorge Job from the Philippine Science High School and we’re wondering if you would like to apply for a teaching position.”

What? Excuse me? Am I dead? Am I hearing right?

“Uh, sure.” Christ. You can do better than that, Martin. “But I’m at work right now.” (It was 9PM)

“Okay. Someone will call you in the morning.” Then he put the phone down. It was creepy. Like an episode of the Godfather or something. But it was the best moment of my call center days. I forgot that I threw my resume in Philippine Science when I graduated, but they didn’t accept me at that time since they didn’t need a social studies teacher then. But that was then. Thank God I forgot.

Mr. Job called again in the morning and instructed me on what to do next. “You will need to do a demo class. History of China, first emperor. Basic stuff. Thursday, 10 o’clock.”

He said many more things but that was all I remembered. It was Tuesday and I had one day to prepare a lesson on something I haven’t thought of for two years. History of China? I forgot my history of China!

So when I went to work on Tuesday, I used company resources to research the history of China (hehehe… evil… but call centers have good computers) and I designed a simple lesson that will cover how the first emperor — Qin Shih Huangdi — united China politically, economically and socially.

I still remember that demo class. It was Thursday morning and I’ve only had two hours of sleep. I didn’t know what to expect. I was going to enter a room full of geniuses and I felt so stupid, no thanks to three months in the call center.

And it was tons of fun. I taught Rosal ’07 like I was never going to teach again. I had a koosh ball with me — which I called the mandate of heaven — and everytime someone recited I asked them for an emperor (or empress) name. I taught them all they needed to know about the history of China in 45 minutes. I loved that moment so much and realized that God, this is what I want to do. Please, let me do this. I never prayed so hard in my life.

After that demo, my polo was drenched in sweat but I didn’t mind at all. The social science unit interviewed me and I remember seeing all of my current co-unit members there. I couldn’t remember much of what happened because I was so dazed from my first teaching experience. All I figured out were their ending words, “Thank you very much. We’ll call you again.”

Those were the best words and most frightening words. A week passed and no call. Another week passed and still no call. Everyone who cared told me that the job was mine, but nothing was final. Until November 15 came. That day, someone called the house while I was out. All I got when I arrived was a message that I should go to Pisay the next day. I had no idea who to go to.

So on November 16, I went to Pisay and looked for that person who called. All I knew is that it was a woman. I worked my way up to the faculty and I ran into Sir Vlad. He said that we should try the HR office and so he helped me there. On the way he said, “hinahanap ka nung mga bata, ah. Tinatanong kami kung nasaan ka.” (“The kids are looking for you. The’re asking where you are!”)

And that was a moment for me. (Namiss ka raw nila.) (“They missed you.”)

When I arrived at the HR office, I was briefed immediately. This was the clincher: “We are about to take you in but there is one problem.”

Oh, God. Not my political science degree.

“According to these tests, you are a shy person? And your former supervisor said that you don’t open up much.”

What can I say? I’ve been rejected all my life.

“We hope you change.”

That was it? No, “you’re hired?”

“Please go to the CISD office.”

And go I did. My meeting with the CISD chief was very short. “So, we need a teacher to teach Asian history to four second year sections, and Philippine history to one first year section. You will also be an adviser.”

I can’t believe my ears.

“Thank you for giving us your services,” the CISD chief said with a smile. And I must have thanked her a hundred times. “Do you have any questions?”

I know there was one. “When do I start?” Then the bell rang.

“I think your next class is already waiting at room 319.”

Without looking back, I went up the stairs and greeted a room full of familiar faces. I missed Rosal ’07 too, my first class ever and my first advisory too. And for the first time in my life, I felt what it was like to be truly alive. Every heartbreak and rejection led me to this moment. And life, couldn’t be better even though it could play pretty mean tricks.

And the best part? Someone asked me on the first day.

“Sir Martin, what is your course?”

I answered, “Political science.” With a smile.

“Wow. That’s so cool, sir.”

Yeah, I guess it is.

TO BE CONTINUED

78 thoughts on “Confessions of a teacher, part 1: The untold story

  1. Oh, and I wouldn’t even think of going to law school. My exs were there. I think they were even roommates at one point.

    I smiled here. πŸ˜€

  2. JV: I’m not putting other sections and batches down, but Rosal has always been memorable. I’ve noticed that there are a lot of ‘characters’ in every Rosal I’ve handled. Lalo na sa inyo. πŸ™‚

  3. This is awesome!!

    A teacher who actually opens up to his students.

    This rocks..!

    Id love to see more of this from more teachers…

    Go Sir Martin!! πŸ˜€

  4. cyempre sa rosal may ‘mga character’, *ehem, JV* peace! Sir Martin, love the post!!!! Great teacher sir!!! Destiny mo talaga yan sir!!! Kahit anong class di maiinip sayo…ever thought of teaching an algebra class sir?? *grinning from ear to ear*
    Billiards ulet sir?

  5. I still remember you asking us if we knew the game “Evil Genius” (Actually, I knew the concept of the game but was too shy to recite, hehe).

  6. wow, sir…cool life…funny and frustrating at the same time? but you never looked sad or…shy(?!)…

    you could pass as an actor with the way you teach… ^-^;; wanna try? hehe…never go plastic, though… >.>

  7. “Without looking back, I went up the stairs and greeted a room full of familiar faces. I missed Rosal β€˜07 too, my first class ever and my first advisory too. And for the first time in my life, I felt what it was like to be truly alive. Every heartbreak and rejection led me to this moment. And life, couldn’t be better even though it could play pretty mean tricks.”

    Never worry, Sir. Your course might not be on Public Education[?] but I think you do away even without it. My first cool teacher ever in my years of eddication. Hahaha. GO SIR!!! Happy Birthday!

  8. Hala! Sir… I don’t know when I can do that. Maybe in 3 blogs?!? Hahaha…

    Just joking sir, but it’s really a once in a blue moon opportunity… πŸ˜€

  9. Haha, Naalala ko noon sir, parang nanghihinayang kami, kasi late ka na dumating, 2nd-3rd qtr ka na lang nagturo sa amin, pero kahit sa sandaling mga oras na yun, haha, isa ka sa mga da’best teachers… Ambilis ng panahon, at parang kahapon lang yun, haha.. Niweiz, sana eto na yung ‘gusto’ mong gawin sa buhay mo =P..

  10. Erik: Sobrang nabitin ako sa batch niyo! Sobra. But those four months were the best. Hanggang ngayon, masasabi ko yon.

    Anyway, salamat sa lahat. Yeah, sobrang enjoy ako sa pagturo but I have plans. I won’t teach forever. Check back here in the near future for a big announcement. Siguro, before the end of ’07.

  11. natatandaan ko pa p yung araw na nag-demo kayo sa rosal, sir.
    Inaabangan nga po namin kayo, kasi puro positive ang reviews ng rosal sa demo niyo. At hindi sila nagkamali ^_^
    Namimiss ko na yung action-packed discussions natin on asia, and yung lessons natin on Japan! (show and tell, with sake! inuman sessions!! :P)
    Tama nga si erik, nakakabitin ung second year socsci… pero ayos lang. at least I got the chance to be educated by one of the best and coolest socsci teachers ever. ^_^ God Bless sir. Here’s hoping that wherever life may lead you, you get to inspire more and more people πŸ™‚

  12. Thanks, Jovi. You’re the best! Haha. Yeah, I can’t forget all our activities before. Come to think of it, ang dami rin nating nagawa in that short period of time. Sobrang bitin. Dahlia rocks! πŸ˜€

    At least pag-graduate niyo, puwede na talaga mag-inuman sessions. Hahahahaha!!! πŸ˜›

  13. woah…i never knew…

    grabe…pwede na tong i-movie sir…haha…pero natawa talaga ako sa stupid conversation mo dun sa call center…namiss ko tuloy yung “CALL CENTER STORIES” nyo…the best!

    haha…di ko alam na kinakabahan din pala kayo sir…you’re always confident in front of us eh…

    Good luck, Sir Martin! Can’t wait for the part 2!

  14. Wow sir. So this has the FULL LENGTH story (maybe not really FULL LENGTH, but lengthier than usual :P) of how you were hired in pisay. which was like… WHOOSH! in just a flicker of light! haha!

    and, oh.. i can’t believe you were shy back then! uh.. sir martin = shy? i don’t think any mathematician or philosopher or whoever could prove that. πŸ˜€ hahaha.. but, well, as you did say, you were rejected that’s why. i’m very much happy i met the NEVER SHY sir martin. teehee. πŸ˜€

    more confessions! more confessions! hahahaha! take care sir!

    thanks for a while ago. πŸ˜€ *smiles*

  15. ops. naloka ako. :))

    50 pounds? WOW! tara badminton na to! :p

    shempre, ilang beses ko nabasa ung ROSAL`07. (at kinikilig ako. HAHAHA) xp

    “β€œAccording to these tests, you are a shy person? And your former supervisor said that you don’t open up much.””

    -shy? come on now! :)) di kapani-paniwala. oh well, kung totoo un, buti naman sir hindi ka na SHY ngayon. πŸ™‚ okay, i shall read the next part!

  16. Nice “story” you got there sir… πŸ˜€ I’ve heard fragments of it during our classes, but never have I heard it “uncut”. πŸ˜€ I never knew you went through hard times just to become a teacher… Well… you deserve it anyway! πŸ˜‰ Thank you Sir Martin for being such a great teacher. I still remembered when you tried to speak in an Indian accent during class… and that time where we had this “Chinese variety show”… our group even made it in an American Idol format! πŸ™‚

  17. wahaha! natatawa ako. =)) feel ko dapat hindi at hindi siya gaano nakakatawa. pero natatawa lang ako. XD okaaayy… pero appreciated ‘yung post po! natatawa lang. =)) =))

  18. Kamae, thank you. Your class is still one of my most unforgettable ones, and to be honest, you are one of the icons that makes Dahlia, Dahlia. I’ve had three already, but I’ll never forget the ’07 roster. Simply amazing. Thanks for the lightheartedness and honesty you brought to my class. Pokamaeniac rules!

  19. My laughter, maraming salamat. πŸ™‚ Don’t worry about laughing, the post was meant to be lighthearted and sweet (in a way). I laugh at it often too. πŸ˜€

  20. Wow sir!!! Nice life…..

    Just wondering…sir…why’d you take political science if you didn’t

    want to go to law school?? Just wondering…

  21. Hala, does it mean I’m in the wrong field too? lol

    Seriously though, that last bit was the perfect ending for this part of your confession. (hello, Usher. :D)

  22. For the first time, I actually just sat down and took my time in reading someone’s blog! :p
    Now we know how great teachers are made. πŸ˜€
    Can’t wait to read parts 2 and 3!
    “Inevitable Karma” has completely changed the way I see blogs.
    You’ve got yourself a new reader. πŸ™‚

    P.S. The hardest part to believe was that one about you being shy πŸ˜›

  23. What a great blog you have here. You are my kind of teacher–transparent, passionate, and showing–instead of telling. Great combination.

    Great writing too. I look forward to reading more. I subscribed.

    Have a great summer.

    Maria

  24. Nice blog. There’s hope for a Pol Sci grad? I started in the year 87 and graduated in 2004 with my Pol Sci degree. Never shifted nor thought of changing my college course. Ika nga, pinanindigan na! hehehe
    This is 21st century teaching personified. Great work and good luck!

    * a mom of one of your student*

  25. I got here by mistake. Im also a (fresh) polsci grad from Ateneo and was looking for jobs on google. But when i read your story i can say I truly emphatize with you. I just dropped out of law school last sem, and it seems theres nowhere I could go. But I’m keeping my hopes up and applying for sales or marketing nonetheless. Too bad I’m too immoral to be a teacher, let alone at Pisay haha. Good luck to you Teacher, god bless!

  26. Not at all like my first teaching assignment. It was my last year of college and I went to my first class of student teaching at the local high school, (internship) The principal met me at the door and informed me that the regular teacher was very sick and would be out for the rest of the year. Yes, I got the job. No help, no student teaching, just got to work. You know, some of us just live right.

  27. You don’t know me.Got to read your piece while im trying to download an anti-virus. I like it, the part 1. Simply put…I saw myself with what you’ve gone through. I was never jobless but I got into areas that do not really, shall we say, stretch us to our limits. Although..I wouldn’t get caught working in a call center my friend.Nothing against it..but it’s just a job too cold and unpersonal despite its inherent capacity to help. Good that you got out of it quick. Good that you found where you want to be for the rest of your life. Me? I’ve done something good for my country but Im ready to move on and put all my passion somewhere doing something else. The secret to my life is my constant need to change environment and experience new things. This will change too, someday. Shows how people appreciate others who live a life entirely different from their own, huh? Well,good luck to your career. You chose a difficult but satisfying path. Go with God!

  28. oh dear god. πŸ™‚ hehehe… for what it’s worth, i’m so sorry about all that rejection. no excuses there just saw things differently. πŸ™‚ i wish for you, all the happiness that life and the world has to offer, old friend. πŸ™‚ god bless you and those you hold dear.

  29. Nakakamiss magbasa ng blog mo sir πŸ™‚ At ngayong graduate na rin ang batch namin (2nd batch na hinawakan mo sa Pisay), nakakarelate ako sa job hunting experiences. Grabe, kung ikaw nireject sa galing mong yan?? Pero buti na lang dinala ka ng landas mong tinatahak sa pagiging guro sa Pisay. Pwede namang nasa trabaho ka kung saan higit na mataas ang sahod, pero pinili mo magturo. Sana ako rin, mahanap ang gusto ko talagang gawin sa buhay. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment