Quick notes on Philippine politics

I’ve been out of it for quite a while, but here are some of my takes.

  • I am currently an independent. I have not made up my mind on who to support or vote for. I am still looking for better politicians, but I am given to the fact that I won’t see any this election cycle.
  • It used to be Noynoy, but I’ve fallen off that bandwagon way, way back. He finally lost me with that atrocious ad. Redemption can be made by being clear with a platform and taking firmer rein of the Liberal Party. That remains to be seen.
  • I am becoming very interested in how Gibo Teodoro will run his campaign. How he distances himself from GMA will define him as a candidate and politician.
  • I still don’t trust Manny Villar. Never will, never have. Loren Legarda has lost all credibility.
  • Chiz Escudero has floundered and made so many bad political decisions. It is unfortunate. Despite my mockery of him, I am very open to seeing him grow as a politician. I hope he becomes someone I can vote for in 2016. If he ran for the VP as an independent, I could possibly vote for him.
  • Erap Estrada is a non-issue as far as I am concerned.
  • No candidate has a monopoly of good or evil. They’re all politicians and they’ll say what they have to say. Those who framed the coming elections as one between good and evil can take off their rose-colored lenses now.
  • Political turncoatism is absolutely shameful. We need to reform our party system post haste.
  • Will the elections be judged on issues or personality? In the end it all boils down to character.
  • I suspect that the coming presidential race will be at most a three-way race.
  • I hope to see some real presidential debates this time.
  • It will be interesting to see how many take away from the Obama playbook.
  • Good move by the Left to break away from the NP. I was about to write a comment on their hypocrisy. (Well, look at what I just did!)

More soon. I don’t expect our elections to be of the same caliber as the US 2008 national elections, but they’re bound to be even more entertaining.

One thought on “Quick notes on Philippine politics

  1. I agree on most of the points you’ve raised. Most notable would be the Left’s decision to break away from NP. Finally, they grew their spine back!

Leave a Reply

