Change is coming?

I’ve always seen Mar Roxas as a good and competent public servant. However his campaign, thus far, hasn’t appeared to be the most sincere. His ads only make me cringe, and his apparent hunger for the presidency makes me trust him a little less.

And then he pulls off what is probably the most honorable act in Philippine politics in a long while — he gives way to Noynoy Aquino as the standard bearer of the Liberal Party. Here I was expecting that he would either run independent or form a splinter party. But no. He yields and vows to help Noynoy’s campaign. Ironically, Mr. Roxas, I would vote for you now.

I know I haven’t been the biggest fan of Noynoy thus far. But a Facebook tweet from Noemi makes me think twice. She writes,

It is not question of competency. Values, preservation of democracy, no intention to stay in power. Don’t use conventional wisdom with Noynoy.

Maybe. We shall see. The elections have officially become interesting.

Lengthier commentary as more things happen.

7 Comments

  1. ^ I agree. I need to hear from Noynoy.
    When I was younger, choosing between FPJ and GMA was easy. Now that I’m older, choosing whom to vote has become both complex and grueling. Do we vote presidents for what they stand for (as symbols), for what they can do, or for some other criteria?

    What Noemi pointed out is interesting and something I can agree with. But Im still uncertain on whether this applies to Noy.

    I don’t know much about Noynoy’s own values. I only know Cory and Ninoy’s. What has Noynoy done concretely to preserve democracy? I only know what his parents did. How do I know that he has no intention of staying in power? I only know that he’s a reluctant candidate. And that doesn’t prove anything.

    And what if Noynoy does not run?

    Back to the post: After labeling Mar Roxas as Golum for so many weeks now, he earned my respect (and sympathy) today.

  2. It is not question of competency. Values, preservation of democracy, no intention to stay in power. Don’t use conventional wisdom with Noynoy.

    We gave the whole “integrity without competence” thing a chance with Cory, and the reverse with Marcos (and maybe even Gloria and others) AFAIK. It’s about time it stops being either-or!

Leave a Reply

