Counting down to February 8: De Venecia’s dead, politically and literally

Well, that was some piece of Shakespeare.

I’d love to have a copy of that impromptu speech (which means I’ll never have a copy) since it’s a great textbook example of everything wrong with Philippine politics. Read between the lines and you’ll see tons of references to patronage politics and rent-seeking. I hope you caught that part where he exclaimed that it hurt him to cross swords with Malacañang since he has “invested” in them more than anyone else in the house. That’s damning. That practically answers the question of why he exposed all the “irregularities” under the Macapagal-Arroyo regime just now that his political career is on the chopping block. It was a simple case of “if I’m going down I’m taking you down with me.” That was all there is too it.

He also referenced a lot of the death threats and assassination plots against him. I’m sure deep inside he knows he’s already a dead man. Journalists get shot for saying smaller things.

I don’t know if I should be sharing this, but a colleague active in psychic circles mentioned a month back that the first quarter of this year will see a lot of political turbulence. One psychic even said that something will happen on February 8. That date will ignite a period of turmoil in the country that will cost the First Family a lot. I shoved it all aside and called it a bunch of hocus pocus and superstitious speculation.

But what do I know. February 8. Watch out for it.

Now back to watching the vote…

One thought on “Counting down to February 8: De Venecia’s dead, politically and literally

Leave a Reply

